Joint Open Letter

to the President of the European Council, to the President of the European Commission and the President of the European Parliament

October 18, 2021

Your Excellencies,

Following the Rose Revolution in 2003, a new Georgian government championed reforms that sought to deliver the westward security, economic, and political integration that the Georgian people wanted. Almost 20 years on, it is easy now to forget the remarkable progress in the following years. There was still plenty of work to be done when Russia invaded Georgia in 2008. In 2012, voters decided it was time for a different ruling party to have a chance to deliver on much-needed justice reforms and onward progress toward full Western integration. Then-President Mikheil Saakashvili played a significant role in setting a regional precedent: he oversaw a free and fair election that handed his own party an electoral defeat and handed power to the new government in a peaceful, democratic transfer of power.

On October 1, 2021, President Saakashvili returned to Georgia and was immediately arrested to serve the prison sentence to which he had been convicted in absentia. The charges are known to be politically motivated. Saakashvili was one of dozens of former officials tried and convicted by their successors. Despite his conviction, the charges were never internationally recognized, and no one moved to detain or extradite him as he continued to work and travel abroad, because these charges were known to be part of an established pattern of political persecution.

The arrest of the former President Saakashvili serves only to deepen the political crisis Georgia faces following years of extreme polarization that have resulted from attempts to control the free press; to intimidate and surveil journalists, opposition politicians, activists, and even foreign diplomats; and to limit the space and resources for political opposition to the government.

Every day that the Georgian government continues to pursue the politically motivated prosecution and imprisonment of its political rivals and predecessors is another day that worsens the cycle of extreme political polarization in Georgia, making unity of political forces for the sake of strategic national priorities impossible. Extreme political polarization erodes the democratic institutions that are Georgia's best security from the existential threats it still faces. We know where this pattern leads. There is no option of silence now.

Considering the pending application to the European Court of Human Rights by President Saakashvili, and to ensure the recovery of Georgia's democracy from the current political crisis, Saakashvili's imprisonment should be suspended until he faces trial, in fair judicial proceedings, for any charges levied against him. With no public trust in the justice system in Georgia, some element of international observation must be put in place to help calm tensions as this process moves ahead. The era of politically motivated justice should finally end in Georgia. This was clearly stated in the EU-US negotiated agreement of April 19, which was later rejected by Georgian Dream. President Saakashvili should be released to pave the way for a renewed stabilization

agreement that aims to end the crisis in Georgia and restore the course that the Georgian people want to see for their nation.

Sincerely,

- 1. Valdis Zatlers, Former President of Latvia
- 2. Viktor Yushchenko, Former President of Ukraine
- 3. Carl Bildt, Former Prime Minister, Former Foreign Minister of Sweden
- 4. Anna Fotyga, MEP, Poland
- 5. Jacek Sariyusz-Wolski, MEP, Poland
- 6. Antoni Legutko Ryszard, MEP, Poland
- 7. Raffaele Fitto, MEP, Italy
- 8. Elżbieta Rafalska, MEP, Poland
- 9. Carlo Fidanza, MEP, Italy
- 10. Witold Jan Waszykowski, MEP, Poland
- 11. Ladislav Ilčić, MEP, Croatia
- 12. Elżbieta Kruk, MEP, Poland
- 13. Dace Melbarde, MEP, Latvia
- 14. Roberts Zile, MERP, Latvia
- 15. Beata Mazurek, MEP, Poland
- 16. Charlie Weimers, MEP, Sweden
- 17. Sergio Berlato, MEP, Italy
- 18. Adam Bielan, MEP, Poland
- 19. Bogdan Rzońca, MEP, Polan
- 20. Raffaele Stancanelli, MEP, Italy
- 21. Dominik Tarczynski, MEP, Poland

- 22. Hermann Tertsch, MEP, Spain
- 23. Veronika Vrecionová, MEP, Czechia
- 24. Anna Zalewska, MEP, Poland
- 25. Kosma Zlotowski, MEP, Poland
- 26. Patryk Tomasz Jaki, MEP, Poland
- 27. Zbigniew Kuźmiuk, MEP, Poland
- 28. Rasa Juknevičienė, MEP, Lithuania,
- 29. Raphaël Gluksman, MEP, France
- 30. Prof. Raimundas Lopata Chair of the Committee for Future, Chair of the Group for Inter-Parliamentary Relations with Georgia, Seimas of the Republic of Lithuania
- 31. Jonas Jarutis, Deputy Speaker of the Board of the Seimas, Seimas of the Republic of Lithuania
- 32. Žygimantas Pavilionis, Chair of the Committee on Foreign Affairs, Seimas of the Republic of Lithuania
- 33. Laurynas Kasčiūnas, Chair of the Committee on National Security and Defence, Seimas of the Republic of Lithuania
- 34. Laima Liucija Andrikienė, Deputy Chair of the Committee on European Affairs, Seimas of the Republic of Lithuania
- 35. Arminas Lydeka, Deputy Chair of the Committee on European Affairs, Seimas of the Republic of Lithuania
- 36. Algirdas Butkevičius, Deputy Chair of the Committee on Budget and Finance, Seimas of the Republic of Lithuania
- 37. Valentinas Bukauskas, Deputy Chair of the Committee on State Administration and Local Authorities, MP, Seimas of the Republic of Lithuania
- 38. Lukas Savickas, MP, Seimas of the Republic of Lithuania
- 39. Romualdas Vaitkus, MP, Seimas of the Republic of Lithuania
- 40. Andrius Vyšniauskas, MP, Seimas of the Republic of Lithuania
- 41. Rimantė Šalaševičiūtė, MP, Seimas of the Republic of Lithuania
- 42. Laima Nagienė, MP, Seimas of the Republic of Lithuania

- 43. Algirdas Sysas, MP, Seimas of the Republic of Lithuania
- 44. Kestutis Vilkauskas, MP, Seimas of the Republic of Lithuania
- 45. Emanuelis Zingeris, MP, Seimas of the Republic of Lithuania
- 46. Algirdas Stončaitis, MP, Seimas of the Republic of Lithuania
- 47. Valdemaras Valkiūnas, MP, Seimas of the Republic of Lithuania
- 48. Tomas Tomilinas, MP, Seimas of the Republic of Lithuania
- 49. Silva Lengvinienė, MP, Seimas of the Republic of Lithuania
- 50. Rima Baškienė, MP, Seimas of the Republic of Lithuania
- 51. Linas Jonauskas, MP, Seimas of the Republic of Lithuania
- 52. Edita Rudelienė, MP, Seimas of the Republic of Lithuania
- 53. Vilija Targamadzė, MP, Seimas of the Republic of Lithuania
- 54. Kęstutis Masiulis, MP, Seimas of the Republic of Lithuania
- 55. Rita Tamašunienė, MP, Seimas of the Republic of Lithuania
- 56. Paulė Kuzmickienė, MP, Seimas of the Republic of Lithuania
- 57. Michał Kamiński, Deputy Speaker of the Senat, Poland
- 58. Pavel Fischer, Chairman of the Committee on Foreign Affairs, Defense and Security, Senate Czech Republic
- 59. Eerik Kross, MP, Riigikogu of Estonia
- 60. Vytis Jurkonis, Lecturer, Institute of International Relations and Political Sciences,

Vilnius University

- 61. Marius Laurinavičius, Independent Analyst, Lithuania
- 62. Ben Hodges, LTG (Retired) Former Commander US Army Europe
- 63. Daniel Hamilton, Conservative Party, UK
- 64. Walburga Habsburg Douglas Former Member of Swedish Parliament
- 65. Gabriela Habsburg, Former Ambassador of Georgia to Germany
- 66. Vladimir Kara-Murza, Opposition Politician, Former Deputy Leader of the People's Freedom Pary, Russia
- 67. Eka Tkeshelashvili, Former Minister of Foreign Affairs, Georgia
- 68. David Sikharulidze, Former Minister of Defense, Georgia

- 69. Batu Kutelia, Former Ambassador of Georgia to the USA, Former Deputy Minister of Defense of Georgia
- 70. Elene Khoshtaria, Politician, Georgia
- 71. Tornike Gordadze, Senior Fellow at IISS, Professor at Paris Institute of Political Studies
- 72. Shota Gvineria, Former Ambassador of Georgia to the Kingdom of Netherlands